One Wise Guy is a fountain of spiritual knowledge, and willingly shares his knowledge and love of his faith with his family. When I was young, we visited them and he gave each of us kids a ride on his motorcycle through a field near his house. When it was my turn, I donned the big helmet, climbed on the back of the seat, and held on as One Wise Guy maneuvered over the various dips and hills in the dirt. During our drive, he proceeded to tell me the story of the 2,000 stripling warriors from the Book of Mormon. He described how this small group of warriors, fighting for their fathers and their God, stayed on their straight course, never deviating to the right or left, while being pursued by the enemy army. They then decided to turn and defend themselves against innumerable odds. They “never had fought, yet they did not fear death” (Alma 56:47), even though they faced an army many times their size comprised of soldiers that were well-trained and experienced. I had never heard this story before (I was young and had not yet read this great book), and I was amazed at these 2,000 young men who marched against and defeated an entire army . . . and survived! All 2,000! I didn’t know the Book of Mormon had a story like this! And here I am hearing it for the first time while bouncing along on the back of a motorcycle in a dirt field on a lovely sunny day. I had no idea then that the scriptures could be so alive. Later, I read the book for myself and learned the many amazing lessons of the 2,000 stripling warriors . . . and remembered that motorcycle ride years before. 

“Father, behold, our God is with us, and he will not suffer that we should fall; then let us go forth . . . Now they never had fought, yet they did not fear death; and they did think more upon the liberty of their fathers than they did upon their lives; yea, they had been taught by their mothers, that if they did not doubt, God would deliver them . . . behold, to my great joy, there had not one soul of them fallen to the earth; yea, and they had fought as if with the strength of God; yea, never were men known to have fought with such miraculous strength.” (Alma 56: 46, 47, 56)

God is with us. He will not let us down if we put our faith in Him. What a blessing to have One Wise Guy in our midst.
