I’m working on a post about recent activities in this area of the world. Stay tuned. In the meantime, enjoy this poem by 2006 Children’s Poet Laureate, Jack Prelutsky. (You need to know his work. Fun for all ages.) This is how we feel often, but especially last night around 11 p.m. when we still were in the middle of our children’s homework. One of our sweeties read this to her fellow homework sufferers a couple of years ago. I’m not sure if her teacher was very amused. But I was proud.

Der Meister’s comment: It’s sad to think our child gets all of her math help from an English major. (But thank goodness he can do it.)

Homework! Oh Homework!
by Jack Prelutsky

Homework! Oh, homework!

I hate you! You stink!

I wish I could wash you

away in the sink.

If only a bomb

would explode you to bits.

Homework! Oh, homework!

You’re giving me fits. 

I’d rather take baths

with a man-eating shark,

or wrestle a lion

alone in the dark,

eat spinach and liver,

pet ten porcupines,

than tackle the homework

my teacher assigns.

Homework! Oh, homework!

You’re last on my list.

I simply can’t see

why you even exist.

If you just disappeared

it would tickle me pink.

Homework! Oh, homework!

I hate you! You stink!

